profile

Gregory Russell Benedikt

If You Loved Yourself Fully and Deeply, What Would You Do?

Published 7 months agoΒ β€’Β 1 min read

Hi Reader,

Ask yourself this powerful question:

If I loved myself fully and deeply, what would I do?

Use your answer to influence your day, week, and life.

Acting from a place of love > from a place of stress/anger/lack.

It's time you started treating yourself as well as you do your best friend.

You are worth it.


What I'm learning/thinking about 🧠

Self-love, achievement, and my inner critic.

30 minutes ago this section was all about how choosing self-love is always the answer.

But as I sat here writing (and re-writing) sentences, I began to feel frustrated.

All the while my inner critic was berating me, saying:

It's 10:12 am and you STILL haven't sent out the newsletter?

You are lazy and wasting time.

Writing about choosing love while feeling stressed?

You are a fraud.

Those last four words are the ones that scare me the most.

As someone who makes a living helping other people improve their lives, it often feels like I have to have it all figured out.

But I don't.

And neither do you.

Each morning we get to make a conscious choice.

We can give ourselves grace and choose love despite our fumblings.

Or we can tear ourselves down.

Accusing ourselves of all the things we are most afraid of being.

Nobody can be crueler to you than yourself.

And while this masochistic self-flagellation can light a fire under your ass (read: David Goggins), it ultimately erodes your life force.

There are only so many beatings the self can take before it breaks.

Choosing love may not be the ultimate productivity hack.

It may not optimize your life for efficiency and output.

But each day you get to choose which part of you to water.

The part of you that deeply loves yourself.

Or the one that doesn't.


Quote of the week πŸ“œ

β€œAmong those whom I like or admire, I can find no common denominator. But among those whom I love, I can: all of them make me laugh.”​

β€” W. H. Auden


What I'm reading πŸ“š

When I was back home in Bend, I stumbled across an old book:

​Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus.​

It's all about relationships, communication, and understanding the opposite sex.

A little dated at times but very interesting and enjoyable so far.


Was this email forwarded to you?

Click the button below to start loving your Monday mornings.


Sent with lots of love,

Gregory Russell Benedikt

Talk to me: hello@gregoryrussellbenedikt.com

Website: gregoryrussellbenedikt.com

Writing: Medium

Connect: Instagram & LinkedIn

Gregory Russell Benedikt

I am on a mission to have 100 conversations with people about their biggest dreams. Book your free Dream Session at https://bit.ly/3zMgtyD. If that's too much right now, drop your email below to start loving your Monday mornings.

Read more from Gregory Russell Benedikt

Hi Reader, I have good news for you. The fact that you keep coming back here each week means two things: You're incredible and I love you TikTok hasn't reduced your attention span to that of a goldfish Their memory (supposedly) resets every 10 seconds. If yours did too, maybe then you'd laugh at my dad jokes? What I'm learning about 🧠 Why the afternoon nap might be the best thing for you. I'm talking about hitting the hay, grabbing some Z's, and hopping on the sleepy express; destination:...

2 days agoΒ β€’Β 3 min read

Hi Reader, I was in Jackson Hole last week and it was EPIC! The mountain got nearly 4 feet of fresh snow in 4 days. My mustache has never seen so much powder nor been so frozen. Here's a picture of the two of us enjoying the deep pow pow: If you can't see the picture, click "Show photos" at the top of this email. What I'm (re)-learning about 🧠 The most valuable exercise Tim Ferriss does every month. Tim Ferriss is a best-selling author, investor, entrepreneur, podcaster, and an absolute...

9 days agoΒ β€’Β 3 min read

Hi Reader, It's great to see you again. This week's newsletter has more helpful information than a late-night infomercial. Call me Billy Mays and thank me later. What I'm learning about 🧠 The iPhone Effect. Growing up, my parents had a strict "no cell phones at the kitchen table" rule. As annoying as angsty teenage Greg found this, they were on to something. Studies show that the presence of smartphones decreases the quality of social interactions. That might seem obvious, as we've all...

16 days agoΒ β€’Β 2 min read
Share this post